Tennessee Alumnus

State of the University: We Are One

Tennessee is in the midst of historic transformation that one day will be seen as a time when the state took a great leap forward, UT President Joe DiPietro noted in his second State of the University address in February in Nashville.

The transformation is the result of numerous public policy initiatives to raise the percentage of Tennesseans with post-high school education credentials, and the university is proud to be a leader in that effort, DiPietro said.

In his address, “We are One,” he declared that the University of Tennessee stands alone, united and strong in its presence in all 95 Tennessee counties and unique mission to provide education, conduct research and offer outreach that enhances of life for all Tennesseans.

DiPietro’s remarks further highlighted the university’s statewide emphasis on diversity, campus milestones and economic impact, “We have a powerful brand and an unmatched reputation for quality, flagship research and delivering outreach like nobody else. Period.”

UT Day on the Hill

Gov. Bill Haslam (third from right) poses with VP Govt. Relations and Advocacy Anthony Haynes, retired Gens. John “Glad” Castellaw and Dennis Cavin, Chancellor Beverly Davenport, and President Joe DiPietro (left to right).

From researching nuclear security and operating a regional biocontainment laboratory to active shooter response training and more, UT helps keep America safe.

The role of every UT campus and institute in ensuring America’s safety was the centerpiece of the 11th annual UT Day on the Hill in February. The event boosts legislative awareness of the work of students and entities throughout the UT System and reminds legislators that UT has a presence in every legislative district in Tennessee.

2017 President’s Awards Winners

President Joe DiPietro, center, with President’s Award winners Steve Butler, Jason Roberts, Christine Smith, and Guy Reed (left to right).

Establishing a foot clinic for the homeless and developing a novel treatment for dissolving blood clots are just two examples of UT employees’ contributions to the UT mission. Four such contributors received the 2017 University of Tennessee President’s Awards for their impact on lives across the state and beyond.

Established in 2016, the awards recognize employees’ exceptional contributions in one of the three parts of the university’s mission— education, research and outreach— and to honorees whose work supports fulfillment of the mission.

2017 Honorees:
Education: Jason Roberts, UT Martin, associate professor of animal science
Research: Guy Reed, UT Health Science Center, Lemuel Diggs Professor of medicine and chair of the department of medicine
Outreach: Christine Smith, UT Chattanooga, director of the school of nursing and Student Health Services Clinic
Support: Steve Butler, UT Health Science Center, director of instructional technology services