Tennessee Alumnus

Alumni Snapshots: Spring 2017

UT Alumni Association President Kimbrough Dunlap III (Knoxville ’85) welcomes new Health Science Center graduates to the UT Alumni Association during fall commencement in Memphis.

Featured photo (above): UT Alumni Association President Kimbrough Dunlap III (Knoxville ’85) welcomes new Health Science Center graduates to the UT Alumni Association during fall commencement in Memphis.

Todd Gardenhire (Chattanooga ’72) and his wife, Sylvia, brave the weather to cheer on the Mocs football team in Huntsville, Texas.

Members of the Alumni Legislative Council met in Nashville to prepare for the 2017 legislative session. From left, Ford Little (Knoxville ’86), Tommy Hunt (CVM ’82), Jim Duke Jr. (Knoxville ’73), Worrick Robinson (Knoxville ’87) and Alan Ledger (Knoxville ’87).
Members of the Memphis Region UTHSC Alumni Chapter Board at the chapter’s breast cancer awareness event (from left), Jana Fuqua (HSC ’77), Donna Reed (HSC ’75, Knoxville ’89), Chandra Alston (Martin ’93), Scott Carter (HSC ’99), Hope Ferguson (HSC ’15), Carlos Clardy (HSC ’11), Toni Barrett (HSC ’14), Emily Laird (Martin ’80, HSC ’97) and Donnyel Thornton (HSC ’05).
Ashley Cash (Knoxville ’07), a Dallas-based career consultant, explains how alumni can leverage their degrees and network during a Nashville event.
Alumni volunteers prep the UTHSC alumni hydration station at the St. Jude Memphis Marathon. From left, Barbara Benstein (Martin, ’77, HSC ’78), Ana Palmieri (HSC ’87, ’94), Donnyel Thornton (HSC ’05) and Hope Ferguson (HSC ’15).
UT Martin Chancellor Keith Carver (Knoxville ’95, ’09) poses for a photo with Kathy (Martin ’91) and John Barker (Martin ’89) and UT Alumni Association president-elect Betsy Brasher (Martin ’98) in Memphis.
Regional chapter alumni leaders gather in Chattanooga (from left), Rosalynn Phillips (Chattanooga ’99), Adam Leffew (Chattanooga ’10), Chekeetha Osborne (Chattanooga ’01), Roderick Barton (Chattanooga, ’01) and Rickey McCallum (Chattanooga ’00).
Members of the UTCVM Class of 1987 at the 2017 Annual Conference Reunion. Standing from left, Gina Tate, Scott Little and Wendy Rosenbek; seated, Thyra Walker, John Shaw and Keith Hopper.
Moll Anderson with a Moll Anderson Endowed Scholar and her son at a UT football game. The scholarship is awarded to nontraditional students enrolled in the Haslam College of Business.
Jim Herbert (CASNR ’62) addresses fall graduates during December commencement, where he was awarded an honorary doctorate of agriculture in recognition of his service to the industry and his alma mater.
During a stop in Memphis on the “Cruisin’ with Carver” tour, UT Martin Chancellor Keith Carver (Knoxville ’95, ’09) met with FedEx executives Shannon Brown (left), senior vice president and the chief human resources and diversity officer at FedEx Express, and Randy Irving (left, Martin ’97), manager of employee relations at FedEx Services. Brown also is a member of the UT Board of Trustees.
Students give back to UT Knoxville during the 2016 Big Orange Give campaign, which raised $1,521,305 in a week.
Donnie Smith (CASNR ’80) takes photos of children in a Rwanda village during a programmatic planning meeting m for a poultry project partnership with his foundation (the African Sustainable Agriculture Project), the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) and UTIA.
From left, Hollie Holt (Martin ’01), Thomas Person Jr. (Knoxville ’11), Elizabeth Goldstein (Knoxville ’11) and Kirbie Anderson (Knoxville ’09) network during a Nashville career development event.
Former UTC football players gather for the Mocs playoff game in Chattanooga. From left, Don Lepard (Chattanooga ’82), Jim Shafer (Chattanooga ’84), Tripp Abney, Joey Abney (Chattanooga ’83) and Johnny Owens (Chattanooga ’84).
Nearly 85 students practiced “working a room” during Networking at Neyland. More than 50 alumni and employers shared their expertise and career advice with UT students who are preparing to enter the job market.
Tennessee Lady Vols Head Coach Holly Warlick offers a tribute to Pat Summitt during the UT Alliance of Women Philanthropists Symposium “Daring to Lead: On & Off the Court.”
Nick (Knoxville ’87) and Susan De Bonis (Knoxville ’78, ’86) with their interpreters in Haiti during an annual trip with a mobile medical team. The team treated 1,300 patients over five days in two rural villages.
Torchbearer award recipients Mae Jean Go (left, Knoxville ’75), left, and LaWanda Long (right, Knoxville ’83), right, are joined by guest John McKnight during the Torchbearer reunion.