President Selection Nears

President Selection Nears

UT’s search for a new president is edging toward its scheduled conclusion in October.

The UT Board of Trustees, charged with hiring the new leader, plans to vote at its October 21 meeting in Knoxville. Over the summer, the presidential search committee, the search advisory council, and the search firm Witt/Keiffer identified and screened candidates. Candidate interviews are scheduled in early October.

Search Committee Members

James Murphy III, head, Board of Trustees vice-chair
Monice M. Hagler, UT trustee
James E. Hall, UT trustee
Andrea J. Loughry, UT trustee
Matthew N. Murray, professor of economics and associate director of the Center for Business and Economic Research, UT Knoxville
Jan F. Simek, interim president of the UT system
Robert S. Talbott, UT trustee
Sumeet S. Vaikunth, UT student trustee
Jenna S. Wright, assistant professor of English and president the UT Martin Faculty Senate

Search Advisory Council

Spruell Driver Jr., chair, UT trustee
Brad Barnhill, graduate student and incoming Student Government Association executive council president, UT Health Science Center
Constance Bonds, student and president of the Black Student Association, UT Martin
Andrew Clark, student and president of the Student Government Association, UT Chattanooga
Sam Dagogo-Jack, division chief and professor in the College of Medicine—Endocrinology, UT Health Science Center
Jane Davis, administrative specialist, Institute for Public Service
Mary Ergen, veterinarian and graduate of the UT College of Veterinary Medicine
Vern Granger, assistant dean and director of undergraduate admissions, UT Knoxville
Kelly Griffin, administrative assistant in the College of Arts and Sciences, UT Chattanooga
Tom Griscom, former editor and publisher of the Chattanooga Times–Free Press and member of the UT Development Council
Joan Heminway, law professor and president of the Faculty Senate, UT Knoxville
Tommy Jervis, student and president-elect of the Student Government Association, UT Knoxville
Bob Kaplan, Memphis dermatologist and vice-chair of the UT Development Council
Claudia Kirk, department head of Small Animal Clinical Sciences and professor of medicine and nutrition, UT Institute of Agriculture
Ford Little, Knoxville attorney and past president of the UT Alumni Association
Ron Maples, controller, treasurer’s office, UT system
Thom Mason, director of the Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Mike Moss, retired school administrator from Memphis and president of the UT Alumni Association
Verbie Prevost, professor and English department head, UT Chattanooga
John Schommer, professor of mathematics and statistics, UT Martin

For complete information and to submit questions about the search, go to